HomeAboutIPS Committees

IPS Committees

To join a committee or contact a chair, please email your inquiry to kmalloy@ilpsych.org

Access to Care Committee:
Co-Chairs: Dr. Daniel Yohanna
This committee focuses on discussing different issues related to access to care and working with other organizations to share information.

Addiction Psychiatry Committee:
Chair:  Dr. David Lott, MD
This committee is new and will be working on issues related to Addiction Psychiatry.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Karen Pierce
This committee works on issues related to Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. The Committee is also very involved in advocacy including legislative and regulatory.

Distinguished Fellows & IPS Awards Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Philip McCullough
This committee selects the Society’s nominees for APA Distinguished Fellowship each year based on the APA guidelines.  Members of this committee must be Distinguished Fellows or Distinguished Life Fellows.

Educational Planning Committee:
Chair: Dr. Jeffrey Bennett
This committee works on providing CME and education to the members of IPS.

Ethics Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Henry Conroe
This committee is responsible for investigating ethics complaints and has also made an ethics DVD which it is working on distributing throughout the country.

Forensic Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Linda Gruenberg
This committee works om issues related to forensic psychiatry.

Geriatric Psychiatry Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Sandra Swantek
This committee is new and will be working on issues related to Geriatric Psychiatry.   

Governmental Affairs Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Kenneth Busch
This committee works with a lobbying firm to advocate for bills that are in the best interest of Illinois psychiatrists as well as against bills that are not in the best interests of psychiatrists and their patients. They meet every other month and it can be attended by conference call.

Newsletter Committee:    
Editor: Dr. Lala Way
Please feel free to submit articles for the newsletter.  Submissions can be sent to kmalloy@ilpsych.org

Political Action Committee:     
Co-chairs: Dr. Jeffrey Bennett and Dr. Shastri Swaminathan
This committee raises funds to support the work of the Governmental Affairs Committee.  

Private Practice Committee:     
Chair: Dr. Michael Raida
This committee is newer and will be working on issues related to private practice and eventually will provide mentors to early career psychiatrists.  

Public Affairs Committee:     
Chair:  Dr. Sandra Swantek
This committee focuses on public affairs initiatives that support governmental affairs issues.  

Recruitment and Retention Committee:     
Chair:  Dr. Abdi Tinwalla
This committee focuses on developing ways, including planning events, to recruit new members and retain members.     

Residents Committee:
Chair:  Dr. Mariam Aboukar
This committee is new and and will work on issues related to resident's and preparation for life after residency with mentoring programs, networking events, etc.

Telepsychiatry Committee:     
Chair:  Dr. Jeffrey Bennett
Works on issues related to Telepsychiatry.

Website Committee:     
Chair:  Dr. Robert Marvin
This committee helped develop a new IPS website and chooses the website content. The site is definitely a work in progress!  

Women's Committee:
Chair: Dr. Aida Mihalovic
This committee is new and will work on issues related to Women's mental health and issues of work/life balance within the psychiatry field. The committee organizes the IPS Women’s Brunch.


Let Us Help You Find a Psychiatrist.


Connect With Us

Illinois Psychiatric Society
113 McHenry Road, Suite 239
Buffalo Grove, Illinois 60089