HomeNews & Events > 2022 IPS Annual Meeting

IPS Annual Meeting & Career Fair

10/08/2022 8:00:00 AM

2022 IPS Annual Meeting & Career Fair

Technology & Innovation in Psychiatry

Modern advances and technology bring potential advances to assessment and treatment of patients, but there can also be pitfalls.  Join us as we hear from expert speakers and panelists about telepsychiatry, collaborative care and Project ECHO, how to best assess and utilize electronic applications in the treatment of patients, and new frontiers in virtual reality and artificial intelligence!  The meeting will begin with a career fair and
conclude with an awards ceremony/dinner to recognize outstanding contributions of IPS members.  We hope you'll join us to learn, network, and socialize with your fellow IPS members!
Saturday, October 08, 2022
8:00 AM—9:00 PM 
The Hyatt Lodge | Oak Brook, IL
2815 Jorie Blvd, Oak Brook, IL 60523




Last day to register is Oct. 1.

CANCELLATION/REFUND POLICY:  Written notification of cancellation is needed by Sept. 16, be issued a full refund.   After Sept. 16, no refunds will be given.


CAREER FAIR:  Meet with employers and catch a session on Interviewing and contract negotiations.
NETWORKING:  Join your colleagues for group networking lunches.
LEARN:  Participate in 4 hours of  thought provoking educational sessions based on the future of psychiatric technology.
AWARDS: Honor your colleagues at the awards dinner.

CME Accreditation and Designation Statement:
This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and Illinois Psychiatric Society (IPS). The APA is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.
The APA designates this live activity for a maximum of 4 credits AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Hotel Information:

If you are in need of a hotel room during the Annual Meeting, there are plenty of options in the surrounding area, in addition to the meeting venue itself.   
*Meeting Venue:  Hyatt Lodge, Oak Brook:  2815 Jorie Boulevard, Oak Brook, IL 60523
For Reservations, call:  630-568-1234
*Chicago Marriott, Oak Brook:  1401 W 22nd St, Oak Brook, IL 60523
For Reservations, call:  630-573-8555
*Holiday Inn Chicago, Oak Brook:  17 W. 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
For Reservations, call:  630-833-3600

Interview with IPS Program/Events Chair, Lillian Joy Houston.

View full interview Here.

Charity Drive at the Annual Meeting with Street Samaritans!

We are partnering with Street Samaritans to host a cold-weather coat, clothing and shoe drive to provide support to individuals experiencing homelessness this winter in the Chicagoland area. We will have boxes set up at the Annual Meeting to collect items.  Please help us make a difference. 
Click HERE for more information and a wish list of items.

Career Fair and Panel Discussion on Interviewing and Contract Negotiations

View Extended Information on the Career and Interviewing and Contract Negotiations

Special Guest Speakers

View Full Speaker Biographies 

Congratulations to this year's AWARD Recipients 

View full award recipient list

Meeting Agenda (subject to change)

8:00-11:30am     Psychiatry Career Fair—open house style

9:30-10:30am     Interviewing and Contract Negotiations Panel
                            Adrienne Adams, MD; Jordan Romero, MD; Joseph C.F. Willuweit, JD

11:30-12:30pm   Networking Lunches

12:30-12:50pm   Registration/Check-in for Educational Sessions

12:50-1:00pm     Welcome/Opening statement:  IPS President, Abdi Tinwalla, MD
1:00-2:00pm       Session 1 - “Smartphone Apps and Psychiatry: Current Research and Making Sense of the
                           John Torous, MD
2:00-3:00pm       Session 2 – “Telepsychiatry Update"
                           Thomas Wright, MD; Kelly Epperson, JD
3:00-3:20pm       Break with Exhibitors

3:20-4:20pm       Session 3 – “Collaborative Care—Illinois Law Update and How it Works in Practice” Panel
                           James MacKenzie, DO; Kari Wolf, MD; Cynthia Thomas, MD
4:20-5:20pm       Session 4 – “Alexa, launch Coach Lumen”: A Virtual Voice-based Coach for Depression and                             Anxiety – Hope or Hype?”
                           Jun Ma, MD,PhD, FAHA, FABMR, FSBM

5:20-5:30pm       Break with Exhibitors

5:30-6:30pm       Cocktail Hour with Exhibitors

6:30-7:00pm       Business Meeting and Welcome/Awards Dinner

7:00-7:30pm       Key Note Speech
                           Speaker of the House, Emanuel “Chris” Welch

7:30-8:00pm       Presentation: “Personalized Digital Treatment and its Current Use in Mental Health”
                           Aida Spahic-Mihajlovic, MD, MSci, FAPA

8:15-9:00pm       Awards Ceremony

9:00-9:05pm       Closing Remarks: IPS President, Abdi Tinwalla, MD

Thank you to our Sponsors!                                                              


Let Us Help You Find a Psychiatrist.

Connect With Us

Illinois Psychiatric Society
113 McHenry Road, Suite 239
Buffalo Grove, Illinois 60089